Presidential Studies Quarterly


Presidential Studies Quarterly (PSQ) is the only scholarly journal that focuses entirely on the most powerful political figure in the world—the President of the United States.

An indispensable resource for understanding the U.S. president, Presidential Studies Quarterly (PSQ) offers articles, features, review essays, and book reviews covering all aspects of the Office. Containing award-winning articles, PSQ is published by Wiley-Blackwell and edited by a distinguished Presidential scholar Dr. George C. Edwards III. Wiley-Blackwell Publishing issues the journal four times annually in March, June, September, and December. Please note, the publication is only available online.


Timely Research

Presidential Studies Quarterly not only brings the latest scholarly research and thinking about the Presidency but also discusses topics that are of current interest to the field in its features on "The Polls," "The Law," "The Contemporary Presidency," and "Source Material."

Blind Reviewed Articles

PSQ evaluates submitted research by a double blind peer review process that ensures readers receive only the highest-quality, objective scholarship, free from partisan editing or selection. The editorial board members include some of the finest scholars and professionals in the discipline:


George C. Edwards III, Texas A&M University

Managing Editor

Hayley Ellisor, Texas A&M University

Book Review Editor, The Presidency and Rhetoric

James J. Kimble, Seton Hall University

Book Review Editor, Presidency and History

Nicholas Evan Sarantakes, Naval War College

Book Review Editor, Presidency and Political Science and Law

Nancy Kassop, SUNY New Paltz

Feature Editor: The Law

Jasmine Farrier, University of Louisville

Feature Editor: Polls and Elections

Costas Panagopoulas, Fordham University

Feature Editor: The Contemporary Presidency

James Pfiffner, George Mason University

Feature Editor: The Historical Presidency

Richard J. Ellis, Willamette University


Editorial Board

Peri E. Arnold, University of Notre Dame

Vanessa Beasley, University of Georgia

Jon Bond, Texas A&M University

Douglas Brinkley, Rice University

Brandice Canes-Wrone, Princeton University

Jeffrey Cohen, Fordham University

Matthew Dickinson, Middlebury College

Lloyd C. Gardner, Rutgers University

Roderick P. Hart, University of Texas, Austin

William Howell, University of Chicago

Robert Ivie, Indiana University

Lawrence Jacobs, University of Minnesota

Gary C. Jacobson, University of California,

San Diego

Kathleen Hall Jamieson, University of Pennsylvania

Karen Hult, Virginia Tech University

Charles O. Jones, University of Wisconsin

Samuel Kernell, University of California,

San Diego

Thomas J. Knock, Southern Methodist University

Douglas Kriner, Boston University

Martha Kumar, Towson State University

David E. Lewis, Vanderbuilt University

Paul Light, New York University

Forrest McDonald, University of Alabama

James M. McPherson, Princeton University

Martin J. Medhurst, Baylor University

Kenneth J. Meier, American University

Bruce Miroff, SUNY, Albany

Terry Moe, Stanford University

Paul Quirk, University of British Columbia

Lyn K. Ragsdale, Rice University

Stanley A. Renshon, City University New York

Donald L. Robinson, Smith College

Bert Rockman, Purdue University

Andrew Rudalevige, Dickinson College

Robert Y. Shapiro, Columbia University

Stephen Skowronek, Yale University

Mary Stuckey, Pennsylvania State University

Terry Sullivan, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Charles Walcott, Virginia Polytechnic Institute

Stephen Wayne, Georgetown University

Stephen Weatherford, University of California, Santa Barbara

B. Dan Wood, Texas A&M University

David Zarefsky, Northwestern University