Publius Awards

Fellows_Hagel_2000The Publius Award draws its name from those Founders—Alexander Hamilton, John Jay and James Madison—who authored the Federalist Papers in 1787-1788, under the collective pseudonym, Publius. These leaders came together from different schools of political thought for a higher purpose. Specifically, they sought to ensure ratification of the Constitution by asserting with prescience that a federal republic would best preserve the sovereignty of our new nation while safe-guarding the civil and political liberties that are the inalienable rights of every human. At the Annual Awards Dinner, the Center often presents the  Publius Award to one or more individuals who have demonstrated bi-partisan leadership at the federal level of government.


In March of 2014, CSPC had the pleasure to award Senators Susan Collins and Joe Manchin with its Publius Award at the 47th Annual Awards Dinner. Click here for more information about the 47th Annual Dinner.



20130321.157In March of 2013, CSPC presented Senators Mark Warner and Bob Corker with its Publius Award at the 46th Annual Awards Dinner. Click here for more information on the 46th Awards Dinner.


In certain instances, the Publius Award will be named after a particular U.S. President and given to a leader whose contributions reflect the best attributes of that past President's leadership.  

In April of 2012, CSPC presented Secretary of Defense Leon Panetta with the Eisenhower Award at the its 45th Annual Awards Dinner. Click here for more information about the award and the 45th Awards Dinner.

ben bernanke

On April 8, 2010, Federal Reserve Chairman Ben S. Bernanke was presented with the Center’s Alexander Hamilton Award for his courageous actions in facing the unparalleled financial crisis of our time. This award draws its name from Alexander Hamilton, the brillant strategic thinker and first U.S. Secretary of the Treasury who initiated policies that built the financial foundation of the United States during the country's critical first years. Center Trustee Stephen Schwarzman, Trustee David Gergen, and the Honorable Paul Volcker were participants in the program, which also honored the Center’s 2009-2010 Presidential Felllows.

Previous recipients of CSPC recognitions include:

Senator Joe Manchin
Senator Susan Collins
The Honorable David Walker
Senator Dianne Feinstein
Senator John W. Warner, Jr.
Dr. David M. Abshire
Ambassador Max M. Kampelman
Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor
The Honorable Thomas J. Ridge
The Honorable William H. Frist
The Honorable John Breaux
The Honorable Chuck Hagel
Secretary of the Treasury Robert A. Rubin
The Honorable Howard Baker
The Honorable John McCain
The Honorable Patrick Moynihan
The Honorable Richard Lugar
Vice President Al Gore
The Honorable Sam Nunn
The Honorable John D. Rockefeller IV
Ambassador George Mitchell
The Honorable William Richardson
President Gerald R. Ford
The Honorable Alexis M. Herman
The Honorable Leon Panetta
The Honorable Mark Warner
The Honorable Bob Corker