Home Newsroom

Center Awards Dinner Recognizes Senator Dianne Feinstein and the Honorable David Walker

Publius_2009_Feinstein_Stephanopoulos_Daly_AbshireOver 260 guests attend the Center's 42nd Annual Awards Dinner on March 26, 2009 at the Willard InterContinental Hotel. The event honored Senator Dianne Feinstein and the Honorable David Walker, along with the Center's 85 Presidential Fellows. Trustee and former Presidential Fellow George Stephanopoulos served as Master of Ceremonies.

Senator Feinstein was presented with the Publius Award for her strong public record of reaching across party lines to accomplish significant legislative goals. David Walker, President and CEO of the Peter G. Peterson Foundation and former Comptroller General of the U.S., received the Center's Hamilton Award for his work on bringing public attention to the nation's deteriorating financial condition and unsustainable fiscal path. At the dinner, a letter from President Obama was read that congratulated Senator Feinstein and Mr. Walker.

Sponsors of the event included: Chevron, Lockheed Martin, Science Applications International Corporation, Dr. Scholl Foundation, Trustee Paul Neely, Access Industries, Joseph Duffey and Laureate International Universities, Northrop Grumman Corporation, PG&E Corporation and Yahoo! Inc.

For more information, contact Mary O'Connor, Director of Outreach, via This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or at 202-872-9800.